Seriously Social News #21 | TweetDeck Drops Facebook, Adobe goes Subscription Only & YouTube Paid Channels


Seriously Social News

Welcome to Episode #21 of Seriously Social News for Saturday, 11th May 2013.

In this week’s rather late episode, late due to me leaving my microphone behind yesterday, we cover TweetDeck losing Facebook, Adobe going completely subscription only, YouTube offering paid channels, SpiderOak & BitTorrent Sync and some other news from LinkedIn, Facebook and SnapChat.

Download Episode 21 as mp3

Seriously Social News is a short weekly round up on all that is new in the world of social media, the internet and technology. With so much happening in the world of social media and technology, it’s difficult to keep up with the latest news that affects you.

Subscribe

You can subscribe on iTunes, listen on the Seriously Social Soundcloud page or subscribe to the podcast RSS feed.


Show Notes

TweetDeck no longer includes Facebook

tweetdeck
Twitter continues to strangle social media management tool, TweetDeck with the removal of Facebook integration on Tuesday this week. This decision was not at all out of the blue, and in fact Twitter publicly stated back in April that it was stopping Facebook integration as well as stopping the Tweetdeck Air app and mobile Tweetdeck apps for the iPhone and Android phones on May 7th. Also this week the original company that built TweetDeck, TweetDeck Ltd which later became a subsidiary of Twitter has been shut down over accounting failures. Twitter bought TweetDeck from British app developer, Iain Dodsworth back in May 2011 for $25 million. According to The Telegraph, Twitter don’t mind that TweetDeck ltd are no more saying that TweetDeck has been part of Twitter for some time and the old company being laid dormant. However what does the future hold for TweetDeck now that it no longer supports Facebook? It’s great news for other social media management tools such as Hootsuite and SproutSocial, but I for one am sad to see the further strangling of another great app by Twitter.


Adobe Creative Cloud

adobe creative cloud Computer software giant, Adobe have made some huge announcements this week and not everyone is happy. Their suite of software programmes, Creative Suite 6 is to be the last boxed edition before everyone will be forced to use their subscription service- Creative Cloud. The current Creative Suite 6 will no longer be developed apart from minor bug fixes and Adobe has announced it is releasing the next version in June only on the Creative Cloud subscription. The new versions will be called “CC” and include new versions called Photoshop CC, Dreamweaver CC, Premier Pro CC and more. The current price of the Creative Cloud is $49 per user per month and gives access to all of Adobe’s products as well as some cloud storage. It’s also possible to subscribe to just one app for $19 per month and of course there are many other options available for students, educational establishments and teams. The use of the word “cloud” in Creative Cloud is a little misleading as you don’t need to have a continuous internet connection to use the software- you just download the software from the Creative Cloud website and it checks once a month that your subscription is still valid. I was very negative about the Creative Cloud at first, but since using it since December last year I have grown to like it a lot. Despite its high cost it allows access to all of Adobe’s products and I’ll always have the latest version. As well as this, Adobe have announced that they are discontinuing design app Fireworks. Despite having a loyal following, Adobe have struggled to find its identity amongst similar products such as Photoshop, Illustrator, and Edge Reflow. Will you be sad to see it go?


Google Hangouts Features & YouTube Charging

Paid YouTube YouTube announced on Thursday 9th May that it was launching paid channels. Rumours about such a move have been circulating for some time, but it is now official. Despite some fearing that YouTube is becoming a paid service it is only currently a handful of channels offering subscriptions from 99c per month including National Geographic and Sesame Street. Once you subscribe to the channel you will be able to view it across all your devices such as your computer, mobile, tablet or smart TV. Each channel has a 14 day trial and there will be discounts for annual payments.

In other YouTube related news this week, YouTube now notify you by email when your video is live after uploading as well as defaulting to private. If you’ve ever uploaded a big video file to YouTube before you’ll have noticed it can be quite a while before it has been transcoded so it is quite useful that YouTube now notify you by email- it means you can go and have a up of coffee and not have to manually refresh the page waiting for the video to be ready. It’s also helpful that YouTube default the video’s privacy settings to private. This means you can tweak the video using YouTube’s various tools before you publish it live.

There have been a few additions to Google+’s live streaming service- Google Hangouts on air. Viewers can now instantly replay a segment they have just watched as well as a live rewind service that allows you to rewind whilst the broadcast is streaming live.


SpiderOak & SpiderOak

SpiderOak Many of you will have heard of and used cloud synching and backup tool, Dropbox. Dropbox is probably the most popular tool out there in that it’s free for up to 2Gb of storage but has ways of getting free upgrades up to 20Gb and beyond. It works by creating a folder on your computer called Dropbox. Any file you put in that folder is backed up to the cloud and is synchronised to any of your other computers and devices of which you have installed Dropbox on. Despite Dropbox being fairly secure, the final encryption of the files is made on Dropbox’s servers and the Dropbox staff are technically able (if asked to do so by the FBI for example) to decrypt your files. As well as Dropbox, I have been using another service called spiderOak for a few years. SpiderOak has the advantage of backing up and synchronising your documents, music, videos and photos across your whole computer at affordable rates. You can back up 100Gb of your data fore $10 per month. The other advantage is that SpiderOak are not able to access your files even if they (or someone else) want to. The encryption is done client side before it leaves your computer and so is much more secure. It does have the disadvantage of SpiderOak not being able to help you if you forget your password. SpiderOak have released a new version this week- SpiderOak 5 which has a new facility similar to Dropbox called SpiderOak Hive. Your Hive folder is a folder where you can share with other people easily and still take advantage of the zero-knowledge password protection. SpiderOak also offer a free 2Gb service so it’s worth checking out to see if it could work for you or your business.

It’s also worth checking out a service that has been announced by BitTorrent in the past few weeks called called BitTorrent Sync. This completely skips the cloud and allows many computers or devices to send files to each other in complete syncronisation. It also has the advantage of being completely free.

bittorrent


And finally…

….some news that I have managed to sneak in since this podcast has been a little later than usual. Popular business social network LinkedIn is celebrating their 10th birthday this week. 10 years ago, on May 5th, LinkedIn opened their doors and now has over 200 million users, 3,700 employees and 26 offices around the world. Also this week, rumours have been surfacing that Facebook may be looking to purchase the popular mobile traffic app, Waze for around $1 billion. Waze is popular in that its users update the information in real time making it very helpful in avoiding traffic. What could Facebook possibly do with all that location information on its users I wonder? And the social app, SnapChat which is popular amongst teenagers has been found not to be as secure as people thought. SnapChat enables users to send self destructing messages and photos to people which automatically delete themselves after a short time of up to 10 seconds. The messages that were supposed to be deleted have been found to be recoverable by forensic scientists. My recommendation is that if you want something to be private- don’t post it online.!


Comments- Let me know what you think!

Ask me a Question!